Practical 15 & 16 Delices aux Bananes, Fondant au Chocolat Avec Sirop d’Orange et Gingembre Caramelise, Tart Tatin

Today started at first lesson at 8 oclock with a completely boring technical! It could have been very interesting if we actually had the chance to participate and make something ourself. We had chef G which is again very sweet but it was really boring. It is not his fault it it’s who ever plans the lessons and it’s structures fault (and I have no idea who this might be…).
Chef demonstrated how to make chocolate decoration. So he melted and spread and cut and turned but it was really boring to watch from a distance…in you tube I can find videos explaining how to decorate with chocolate and see it on a 52″ screen….I really felt it was a wrong concept for a lesson like this. We were all really bored…it could have been much nicer if it was an actual practical it the kitchen when chef demonstrate how to make and we are straight away following him and trying ourselves. He built this box from chocolate, we have seen so many of them next to the dressing rooms, work that was done buy superior students so why spend another technical on that when we are actually not going to be able to try any of this before superior…I have to say that this term has been a little bit all over the place for my opinion. We have some weird stuff to make at time and in many demo it feels like the chef doesn’t have to much do demonstrate so we are sent to long breaks and then in practical we are still not making all the dishes and finish early. But having said all that the coming exam really putting stress on me….cause the cakes we need to make are technically difficult to make at home so I feel completely not prepared.
Trying to stay awake…BTW sorry for the photos i forgot my phone in the locker so had to use someone else’s ! love the iPhone camera!
The technical finished an hour before time and we went for an hour and a half break. Weather for the last few days has been really great and even hot so we all sat outside and it was nice (at last!!!) to have a chance to talk to some of my class. I have to say that today, at last, I felt comfortable in class. In two weeks we are finishing this term and now I’m starting to feel better with the group. With the basic it was really quick…
Anyway we had chef C for the first practical (after the technical and before the second practical).
Chef C Creations
My Attempt –
Second demo we had another chef. We made personal  tart tatin that I have to say I didn’t really like it. Chef baked the puff pastry just like for Mille fuillette with a tray on it to prevent it from rising, we made the caramel, this time Jane made the caramel and I peeled the 6 apples, cored them. Three of them i cut into quarters and then very thin slices and three to cubes. We poured caramel into the moulds and after Jane cooked the apples in the rest of the caramel and we arranged the slices around the tin then filled it with the cubed caramelised apples put the baked dough on top and baked it for about 10 min in the oven. When out put it upside down and plate it…I also made creme anglais in the meantime that we didn’t really need..there was loads of it and we needed so little and most of it went to the bin…I hate it. Jane made the purée sauce and both the anglais and the purée were bottled for decorations.
We went up to kitchen 3 to pick up our banana mouses took them out of the moulds and sprayed them with white chocolate.
We had loads of time left and atmosphere was actually nice in the kitchen so it was nice to have time to play a bit with sugar decorations. Shame I didn’t take a photo of that. I wish I could play with it at home as well but apparently this is not a regular caramel. It is made from some powder that I didn’t get exactly how…I will have to find out and let you know. I made basket (like everyone else on this planet…), I made a flower and wings and curls and all kind of other trials…it was really nice. We plated the 2 deserts and chef just said they were all nice which was really disappointing because I was looking for more professional approach and criticism. I don’t think he even looked at my plate…
I didn’t take photos of chef’s plating because everyone just started eating before i had a chance…!
Every time the chef finishes the demo everyone jumps to take a photo..sometimes i run as well because i know that there is a chance i won’t be able to take a photo later since people start eating the subject of my photo and sometimes i just don’t feel like jumping ahead like a Maniac…so today..so photo for plating but you have the pleasure to check out my plating..:-D
Against all odds I managed to get home with all the desert to my households delights.
I didn’t really have any idea how I’m going to plate them but I knew I wanted to make a flower. I know it sounds boring but I really felt like making a flower…what can I say… Luckily it went quite well I think and chef liked it as well but his only remark was, and I knew I shouldn’t do it but I really couldn’t stop myself…it to make symmetric decoration. Chef C is so experienced and we are so lucky to have him! He says it should never be symmetric ! Always go for un even number, 1,3,5 but never go for symmetry. But, he liked the piping and the use of the caramel. I was happy! Everyone ate their desert and I asked the chef for his permission to take it with me for my break to enjoy it fully while sitting outside in the sun, properly! And being such a sweetheart he did;) we spent our break outside in the nice sun.
I’m sitting in the tube on my way home and people are just falling asleep over me…and I’m so tired myself…London is so beautiful in this weather but there are few problems….
1. There is not much air in the tunnels and on the train…no air condition..
2. People (for some reason because I use deodorant in the coldest weather) have not yet heard about deodorant….what I don’t understand is how come they don’t smell themselves and realise they stink..??
I’m so tired ..I’m going to have the lunch I carried with me to school and never had a chance to eat and now I’m carrying it back the minute I get home…then long cool bath and straight to bed! Thank got tomorrow it’s late morning!

About Sinmatok

Graduate of Le Cordon Bleu owner of Sinmatok
This entry was posted in Baking, cooking, Cordon bleu london, kitchen, Pattisserie, סטודנט בקורדון בלו, קורדון בלו and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Practical 15 & 16 Delices aux Bananes, Fondant au Chocolat Avec Sirop d’Orange et Gingembre Caramelise, Tart Tatin

  1. someone says:

    Beautiful work!
    As you well said: Against all odds

  2. sinmatok says:

    Love the song! thank:-)

Leave a comment